Starting in the semester of Spring 2013, 10 California state universities are requiring the Associates Degree for Transfer from students transferring from a community college.

Wendy Garcia / Courier
Students walk to class on campus at Pasadena City College on Sept. 24. Recent budget cuts to higher education will affect many students wanting to transfer to their dream university as austere prerequisite tighten.

According to the PCC website there are 13 degrees offered for the AA-T and AS-T.

The AA-T degrees are Art History, Communication Studies, English, History, Psychology, Sociology, Studio Arts, and Theater Arts. The AS-T degrees are Administration of Justice, Business Administration, Geology, Mathematics, and Physics.           

According to the website CSU Mentor, the 10 campuses requiring the degree are: Channel Islands, Chico, East Bay, Fullerton, Humboldt, Los Angeles, Sacramento, San Bernardino, San Francisco, and Sonoma. This was made possible through the Senate Bill 1440, which was passed August 25, 2010.

Interim Associate Dean of Admissions and Records Dina Chase said in an email: “The Student Transfer Achievement Reform Act… is designed to provide a clear pathway to the CSU degree major.”

Chase said that students who earn the degree for transfer will not be guaranteed admission for a certain campus or major but will get priority admission consideration. Students who receive the degree are eligible for admission with junior standing in the CSU system and upon enrollment at the CSU campus, the student will be eligible to graduate with 60 remaining semester units to complete.

According to the CSU website, the CSU general education requirements are 39 semester units in lower-division courses. Students must complete the lower-division courses in English Language Communication and Critical Thinking, Scientific Inquiry and Quantitative Reasoning, Arts and Humanities, Social Sciences, and Lifelong Learning and Self-Development.

The requirements are laid out in the Intersegmental General Education Transfer Curriculum or IGETC.

The requirements to earn the Associates Degree for Transfer are completion of 60 semester units, 18 units in a specified major, and a minimum grade point average of 2.0 in all CSU transferable courses. 

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.